SPORTS

Why Tanakaโ€™s world cup goal against Spain allowed to stand

Why Tanaka's world cup goal against Spain allowed to stand

Japan pulled off yet another huge upset at the 2022 FIFA World Cup after following up their win over Germany with another come-from-behind victory to beat Spain 2-1, as they topped Group E and moved into the knockout stages.

RELATED: Top 10 most expensive trophies in the World

But for all the magical story of the Samurai Blueโ€™s continued progress, there was plenty of controversy and debate over the result, and in particular, the decision to award Japanโ€™s second goal to Ao Tanaka.

Referee Victor Gomes of South Africa initially made the decision to disallow the goal, having adjudged that the ball had crossed the byline. But he was then overruled by VAR.

Fans and pundits were surprised by the decision, and it was debated strongly in TV broadcasts around the world, with many feeling it was the incorrect call in such a big game and moment.

The goal proved to be pivotal, not only for Japanโ€™s place in the group but also in determining who joined them in the knockout rounds.

Here we explain why the strike caused much debate, and why the goal was allowed to stand

Why was Tanakaโ€™s goal so controversial?

Japanโ€™s winner has divided opinions. Not least depending on whether you are from Japan, Spain, or Germany! Many fans suggested that the ball had gone out of play before it was crossed to Tanaka and he put the ball into the back of the net.

RELATED: Highest goal scorer in the World โ€“ All time highest goal scorer

Japan had earlier leveled the game just after halftime, and then when substitute Kaoru Mitoma cut the ball back at the byline and chipped it into the path of Tanaka to finish beyond Unai Simon, they were celebrating again.

However, the goal was initially ruled out by referee Gomes, who decided that it had gone out of play before being crossed into the box. Then, in another twist, VAR reviewed the incident and, after a long deliberation overruled the refereeโ€™s decision and allowed the goal to stand.

The debate did not end there, though, as subsequent still images seemed to suggest that there wasnโ€™t enough evidence to overturn the goal.

The length of time for the decision to be made also frustrated TV viewers, with more than two minutes of time elapsing from the ball being bundled into the net and the final VAR call being made to let the goal stand.

What did Japanโ€™s second goal mean for Germany?

Not only was Japanโ€™s second goal huge in their own match, it also had significant ramifications for Germany, who needed a Spain draw or victory to enable them to progress to the knockout rounds.

With both Spain and Germany leading at halftime, Germany were just 45 minutes away from returning to the knockout rounds after their disastrous 2018 campaign. However, Japanโ€™s quickfire double meant that they were bumped from second down to third.

Germany did what they had to do and won their game against Costa Rica โ€” which itself was not without drama โ€” but as Spain couldnโ€™t find an equaliser, it was all in vein.

RELATED: Has Cristiano Ronaldo won the World Cup?

Germany finished level on points with their European rivals, but with a much worse goal difference.

That means that Germany have now failed to qualify for the knockout stages for the second World Cup in succession. It will go down as one of the shocks of the tournament.

Leave a Comment